Two pillars of light on Thanksgiving Day…

I’m being discharged today on my favorite holiday of all time…

I’ll be heading to Duarte for a night, then on Friday checking into the City of Hope Hospital to start the process of a Bone Marrow Transplant.  My actual transplant will take place on December 10th, all I know about the donor is that he is the same age and weight as my father would be, if he were still alive…and that our genes are a 10/10 match, legally in two years I can meet this person if he agrees, for now I can write letters to him, filtered through a social worker, and he can only respond anonymously.

I’d like to give thanks today to this person that I’ve never met and to everyone and everything…sitting here with this diagnosis really puts things into perspective…what wonderful people I’m surrounded by, my family, my friends, my community…everyone’s pulling for me and I’m grateful for the support, it’s keeping me going, staying positive…staying strong.

I’d like to paint a scene that happened a couple of days ago as I was taken from my room and brought to the basement of the hospital for a CTscan. 

FADE IN:

INT. ROOM 610, CHEMO FLOOR, KAISER HOSPITAL BUILDING 1526

A MAN sits cross-legged on a hospital bed.  He’s covered in gowns and blankets, his head is shaved. He resembles a more pathetic version of the King of Siam.

On either side of him sit two pillars of light…

THE DOOR CREAKS OPEN

VOICE (O.S.)

Mr. Goss, it’s time, we’ve gotta take you down to the basement now.

The Man slowly steps down from the bed, slides into worn brown slippers and walks towards the door.

As he reaches the door he turns to look over his shoulder…

The room behind him is now filled with white light. Light so white it’s blinding.

He squints back, snowblind.

VOICE (O.S.)

Mr. Goss, we’ve got to go…

Through the blinding light he can make out two female faces, one slightly older, one younger.

He smiles as a single tear slips down his cheek.  He pauses for a moment longer, then turns and walks out.

As the door closes behind him and he’s wheeled away down the hall he can still see the white light glowing from underneath the crack in the door, spilling out into the hallway.

He mumbles something to himself about light and dark and angels as the wheels of the hospital bed squeal faster and faster…

FADE OUT:

 

23 responses to “Two pillars of light on Thanksgiving Day…

  1. Hey Goss,

    Its Mike and Kristy wishing you a happy Thanksgiving and a happy release day!

    We’re thankful to whoever that donor is too!

    Much Love!

    Mike & Kristy

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Gossman!

    I hope that you and your family enjoy a great day outside of the hospital.

  3. Hey Jon & Auntie,

    Happy Thanksgiving to you both. I miss you and I am thinking of you during this day, a holiday that, over the years, has become an anchor for the Goss family. Best of luck with the discharge, I am sure a change of scenery is a welcome thing as you have probably seen every nook and crevice of your hospital room. I know good things are up ahead as you as you begin the process of this transplant. I am also incredibly grateful for your donor, a 10/10 match…that is amazing. Next year we will be sure to kick it old school with kareoke, singing, dancing and the usual goofiness. You’re my hero Jon. I love you.

  4. Adam Janice and Aunti Debbie

    Happy Thanksgiving Jon,

    You were in the thoughts and prayers of everybody at our Thanksgiving table. You are on your way to recovery! Although we didnt get to spend T-giving with you this year (but we were with you in spirt), you can be sure you will be carving up a 40 lb bird for us next year at your house in Leominster. By the way, Fitchburg beat Leominster by 3 points today….the rivalry lives on.

    Love,

    Your family

  5. Mr. Goss-

    You are special

  6. Jonathan, Sarah and Auntie-
    We missed all three of you yesterday, but we certainly are thankful for the great news and your donor! It really made the meaning of Thanksgiving shine through.

    Much love and admiration for your strength.

  7. Our entire family gathered together yesterday and gave thanks for the love of family and good health. We prayed for you and your two angels . Stay positive…… such great news about the donor. Another reason for all of us to give thanks…. how wonderful a man this donor must be…. it seems only a few months ago that we attended a donor banquet because of another wonderful donor.

    Much love, hugs, and tons of prayers….

  8. Happy Thanksgiving to you all! While this year seems to have brought more dark clouds than rainbows, there is still much to be thankful for. A 10/10 donor match being waaaaay at the top of the list. That is just amazing!!
    Love, Nicole 🙂

  9. Hey Jonathan Turkey day was a lot different for all but we are looking forward to next yr. You are thought of evereyday. I played paintball on the otherday on the Mountain in Leominster behind the house and my team was called the transplants in honor of you.

  10. Hi Jon,
    Loved your writing! We keep you in our prayers daily. I am so glad that Uncle Jack will be out there soon. Love you lots!
    Aunt Bonnie

  11. Nancyellen & Paul

    Jon,
    Thank you so much for sharing with all of us. You are an amazing writer.
    Your indomitable spirit shines through your words, and I can picture your impish grin as you command those around you to do your bidding.

    As a wise doctor once said-

    I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind.
    Some come from ahead and some come from behind.
    But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see.
    Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me!
    Dr. Seuss

    We are ready to go to bat for you. You and those around you are in our thoughts and prayers.
    All our love,
    Nancyellen and Paul Crowley

  12. Ken & Marie Simms

    Jon,
    A 10/10 match! How awesome!
    Prayers are being answered and your strength and courage are shining brightly for us, also. We will be monitoring your progress and continuing to marvel at your written perspective on this journey you’ve had to take.
    Your angels are the best!
    Love to all, Ken & Marie

  13. Goss!

    Just wanted to wish you the best! Think about you daily, keep fighting and writing.

    Love,

    -Jim

  14. Marilyn Fratturelli

    Hi Jonathan,
    Hopefully, this email finds you in the competent care of the nurses at City of Hope Hospital.
    10/10 match!!! That is great news!!!! The donor must be a wonderful man. He doesn’t realize that (if he agrees) he will be Leominster’s best friend in two years.
    The fact that he reminds you of your dad, put a smile on my face.
    Give those angels a hug.

  15. Sara, Don, and Donny

    Jon – just wanted to say we love you and think of you and your angels every day.

  16. Jon,

    I can’t help but feel so much beaming joy for your wonderful new news!

    You’re strength is something that cannot be measured or explained and the angels that stay with you are infinite and will never let you fall!

    Love and Prayers buddy,

    BJ

  17. Hey Goss,

    Its good to see you write again. We all think about you daily. We are all pulling for you. Now what I think you would appreciate is something funny. My next blog will be entitled Caveretta vs The Hammer . I can’t write anywhere as good as you but I will try my best to make you laugh. Might need a rewrite if your up for it. Oh and I have pictures as well.

    Love,

    Joe

  18. Just a note to give you strength during your last round of Chemo. One hundred days and counting! On Thanksgiving Day we listened to the CD you mixed for Uncle Bobby’s birthday all they way down to Scituate. It was awesome! We laughed and sang along in your honor. Love and prayers are coming your way. Auntie Debbie

  19. Good Morning Jon,
    Counting Down so we can count UP! We’ve had our first snowfall! I remember it was the day your Mom always put out the villages and how you boys made fun of the Carolers!

  20. Good Morning Jon,
    Counting Down so we can count UP! We’ve had our first snowfall! I remember it was the day your Mom always put out the villages and how you boys made fun of the Carolers!
    There was a session on TV the other night about the power of music in healing and the science behind it. So choose some good tunes and load up your ipod.
    Missing you all. Love
    Aunt Diane

  21. Jonathan,
    Good luck tomorrow! We will be thinking of you all day and praying that all goes well. You are young, strong and determined. Love, Aunt Debbie

  22. Will be sending you all my love tomorrow!!

    xo,
    tara

  23. Dear Jonathan,

    I am thinking of you always and especially today, on this special day. I wish I could be there with you. I am in spirit. You are so brave and I know you will be succssful. I will be praying today that all goes well with the treatment. Just take it hour by hour, day by day, and soon you will be home with us so we can hold you and tell you how proud we are of you. God bless you and keep you safe.

Leave a Reply

